Tuesday, 2 June 2009

Cicada Album Mini Mix on Arjan Writes

Cicada's album comes out on iTunes exclusively this week - Cicada - Roulette - Falling Rockets

"U.K. electro-pop band Cicada has returned in Europe with their sophomore album, titled "Roulette." The group first hit the European charts in 2006 with "You Got Me Feeling" and has delivered several hit singles and artist remixes since. The group consists of Aaron Gilbert (aka Mr. Natural), Alex Payne and Icelandic vocalist Heidrun Anna Björnsdottir (formerly of GusGus).

Compared to the smooth Balearic dancefloor vibe of their 2006 debut album, "Roulette" ups the tempo with a sound that is decidedly more pop. “Pop isn’t a dirty word,” the band says in a press release. “From Saint Etienne to Santogold, it’s possible to do it credibly, we’re not techno DJs from Berlin, we’re just trying to make an album that, if someone finds it on their shelf and plays it in five years time, they can still enjoy the songs.”

"Roulette" springs all manner of surprises on the listener. Heidrun helms most of the vocals, notably on the first single "Metropolis," a gem that comes on like Tiga’s finest electroclash given a sparkling 2009 update. The record also includes guest vocals from emerging singer Bjorn Synneby of Swedish bands Pacific! and The Whyte Seeds. She sings on the contagious "Empire Of The Sun-esque ‘Talking." Download a "Roulette" minimix to get a taste of the album."

Click here to see the feature and download the mini mix